DATE:  15 OCTOBER 2009


IT Personality, Visionary CIO finalists named
Entrepreneurs, innovators and community development leaders make the short list.
By Staff writer, ITWeb
Johannesburg, 14 Oct 2009

The 2009 IT Personality of the Year and Visionary CIO awards finalists have been announced.

The top five IT Personality 2009 finalists, in alphabetical order of surname, are:

* Ivan Epstein
* Robynne Erwin
* Lance Fanaroff
* Herman Heunis
* Zibusiso Mkhwanazi

Top five Visionary CIO 2009 finalists are:

* Carl Louw
* Lionel (Len) Pienaar
* Liam Terblanche

Last year’s IT Personality title is held by Mardia van der Walt-Korsten, CEO of T-Systems SA, while the year before the accolade went to Hamilton Ratshefola, CEO of Cornastone. Rabelani Dagada, manager of the ICT and knowledge management division for the Royal Bafokeng Administration, won the 2008 Visionary award.

These three previous winners have joined the judging panel, which will interview the finalists.

The IT Personality of the Year award celebrates its 31st anniversary this year. The Computer Society of SA (CSSA) presents the award in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science and Gartner Africa.
The Visionary CIO award recognises an IT executive who has demonstrated visionary leadership in applying technology to grow and transform business.
From the nominations received from ITWeb readers and the members of the CSSA, the judges short-listed 10 IT Personality and three Visionary CIO candidates. Members for the public could then vote for their favourite candidate on ITWeb’s Web site.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the CSSA Awards Breakfast on Friday, 27 November at the Johannesburg Country Club in Woodmead.